Diego Costa and Gareth Barry were involved in an altercation that ended with the Chelsea man being sent off
Diego Costa maintains he did not bite Everton’s Gareth Barry during a confrontation in Saturday’s FA Cup tie at Everton, according to a club spokesman.
The Spain international was sent off late in the 2-0 quarter-final defeat at Goodison Park after clashing with Barry, who was also sent off moments later for his second booking after fouling Cesc Fabregas.
Television replays suggest Costa moved to bite his opponent, before thinking better of it at the last second.
Interim Chelsea manager Guus Hiddink said in his post-match conference he would reserve judgement on the incident until he has had chance to see it for himself.
The Football Association said it was aware of the incident and would wait for referee Michael Oliver's report before a decision would be made about any possible action.
Chelsea later issued a statement on the club's official Twitter account maintaining the forward had not bitten Barry, but did regret his reaction.
A club spokesman said: "Diego spoke to club officials after the game and expressed regret over his reaction to the challenge from Gareth Barry that led to his red card, but Diego was also very clear that he did not bite him at any point during that altercation."