Ireland squad to take on Australia announced

Joe Schmidt has made four changes to the Ireland starting XV who lost to New Zealand last week as Garry Ringrose, Keith Earls, Paddy Jackson and Iain Henderson are included to play Australia on Saturday.

Ringrose who made his debut against Canada two weeks ago will partner Jared Payne in a new-look midfield after Robbie Henshaw (concussion) was ruled out.

Earls is handed a recall after he impressed against Canada with his Munster teammate Zebo dropped to the bench.

A hamstring injury had ruled Johnny Sexton out of the Wallabies clash early in the week so as expected, Jackson is named at out-half with Joey Carbery amongst the replacements.

Up front, Henderson will start his first game of the November series after he missed the first two games with a shoulder injury. The Ulster player came off the bench last weekend and he replaces Donnacha Ryan who misses out completely. Ultan Dillane provides the second-row cover. 

Rob Kearney and CJ Stander both passed their return to play protocols and are fit enough to take their place in the team.

The front-row is unchanged with captain Rory Best packing down alongside Jack McGrath and Tadhg Furlong while the back-row also has a familiar look to it with Stander, Sean O’Brien and Jamie Heaslip. Josh van der Flier will again be expected to provide an impact from the bench. 

Earlier this morning, Michael Cheika recalled his big guns with Israel Folau, Sekope Kepu, Dane Haylett-Petty, Reece Hodge and Rory Arnold all restored to Australia’s starting line up.

Former Leinster second-row Kane Douglas starts on the bench alongside Quade Cooper who misses out to the inform Bernard Foley.

Ireland – R Kearney; A Trimble, J Payne, G Ringrose, K Earls; P Jackson, C Murray; J McGrath, R Best, T Furlong; I Henderson, D Toner; CJ Stander, S O’Brien, J Heaslip. Reps: S Cronin, C Healy, F Bealham, U Dillane, J van der Flier, K Marmion, J Carbery, S Zebo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *